What is Circular Economy

Circualr Lifestyle

Food

“Agriculture not only gives riches to a nation, but the only riches she can call her own. ”— Samuel Johnson

Food

A large amount of the world’s resources are used to satisfy human’s need for food. Ironically, one third of the food that we have gained from exhausting the earth’s soil and resources does not end up in our mouths. Rather, they are lost during processing, transport, retail, and use. Even worse, such production and consumption systems have resulted in various problems such as the soil degeneration, environmental pollution and ecosystem imbalances. Such impacts have extended far beyond Earth’s capacity to regenerate.

Taiwan has limited land resources, meaning that its food systems are not self-sufficient. If we want to simultaneously manage the country’s food safety as well as environmental and ecological balance, we need to implement systemic changes built on the concept of the circular economy. This necessitates the design of a regenerative food system that starts from farms, to factories, markets, the table, and finally closing the loop by returning the nutrients back to the earth. 

MORE →
Cloth

“My clothes have a story. They have an identity. They have a character and a purpose. That’s why they become classics. Because they keep on telling a story. They are still telling it.” — Vivienne Westwood

Clothes

Thanks to fast fashion and the growing demand for clothing driven by the middle class, in 2015 alone, more than 100 billion items of clothing were produced globally. The linear production-consumption pattern has significant social and environmental impacts. Garment workers in developing countries are under poor working conditions. Synthetic chemicals and additives in the dyeing process have created severe pollution. Vast amounts of natural resources (freshwater, oil, and land) are used throughout the entire production process. Yet the produced clothes are often worn only for a short period, and materials end up being landfilled. The textile and fashion industries produce nearly 20% of global waste. Though 95% of used textile can be recycled and reused, only 1% of the material is used to re-produce clothing. This represents a loss of more than $100 billion each year. Moreover, the garment industry is responsible for 10% of annual global carbon emissions. When a finished product arrives into consumers’ hands, it has passed through 1,900 kilometers.  

MORE →
Live

“Practicing circular economy is like playing mahjong. What is unuseful to one player is a treasure to another.” —— Roger Chang, Director of land development,Taisugar corporation,Taiwan.

Housing

More than 50% of the world’s natural resources are used by the construction industry. Although buildings and construction use 36% of the world’s energy and are responsible for 39% of the world’s carbon footprint, only 3-4% of the construction wastes are reused in the construction industry. According to the United Nations, the world’s population will reach 9.8 billion by 2050, with two-thirds of the people living in cities. How to meet this increase in demand for construction given earth’s limited resources has become an extremely important topic. Enters circular economy - circular economy can help effectively reduce the energy consumption used during construction and ensure the reuse of construction materials through circular design. At the same time, circular economy can be a new opportunity for the construction industry to upgrade.  

MORE →
Transportation

“The Circular Economy can help reduce vehicle lifetime emissions by up to 75% by 2030” —— Accenture, the World Economic Forum.

Mobility

According to the studies, people who own a car use it only 5% of the time everyday, and the remaining 95% of the time the car is idle. The parking space of cars occupies people's living space, and the cars purchased with a lot of money are not used properly. The rise of the sharing platform attempts to improve the use of resources at the stage of use.

MORE →

認識循環經濟

循環生活

Food

農業是Agri跟Culture兩字結合;Agri是拉丁文的「土地」,Culture是「文化」。因此「土地文化」才是發展農業的核心價值。— 黃育徵

地球上大量的資源都被用來滿足人類的食物需求,矛盾的是,我們耗盡了地力、資源所換取來的食物,有三分之一沒有進入我們的口中,反而在加工、運輸、販售、使用等過程被浪費掉。更壞的是,這樣的生產與消費系統導致的土地退化、環境污染與生態失衡種種問題,已經超越了地球可以恢復的能力。

台灣的土地資源有限,食物無法自給自足,如果要兼顧國家的糧食安全以及環境、生態間的平衡,我們需要系統性的改變,透過循環經濟的概念,從農地到工廠,從市場到餐桌,最終讓養分回歸健康的土壤,重新設計一個可再生的食物系統。

MORE →
Cloth

「我的服裝有故事,有自己的身分與個人特色,一件衣服之所以會成為經典,是因為它會說故事,而且會一直用自己的方式說下去。」— 龐克教母薇薇安魏斯伍德; 設計師、藝術家、社運、環保者。

因為快時尚的發展、與中產階級成長對衣物需求增長,光 2015 全球就生產了超過 1000 億件衣服,染料的化學物質不但污染地球,也讓開發中國家裡血汗工廠林立。 而線性經濟發展下的紡織業耗用大量天然資源也對環境造成很大的衝擊,全球產出的廢棄物約有 20% 來自紡織與服裝產業,且每年約 95% 的廢棄衣物都可以再被回收或利用,但卻只有1%被再製成衣物,表示每年損失價值超過 1000 億美元。此外,紡織業占了對全球造成的碳排放影響約 10%,平均每件衣物經過了 1,900 公里的路程才到消費者的手中。

快時尚的發展以及中產階級成長連帶增長了衣物需求,在2015年全球就生產了超過 1000 億件衣服、消耗了790億立方米的水、產生1.7億噸的二氧化碳,以及9千2百萬的廢棄物。按照同樣的商業模式(線性經濟)繼續下去,到了2030年這些數字將會成長50%。

現有的服裝產業系統,對社會跟環境都造成極大傷害。然而,衣服除了是我們每天都會使用的必需品,也是用來表達自己或賦予象徵意義的媒介。要怎麼在繼續使用它們的前提下降低傷害,是我們現在跟未來最大的課題。

MORE →
Live

「循環經濟就像打麻將,上家不要的牌,可能就是下家要的。」 —— 張榮吉,台糖土地開發處處長

全球 50% 以上的天然資源用於建築業¹,且建築與營建使用了全球 36% 的能源並為 39% 的碳足跡負責²。卻僅有 3-4% 的營建廢棄物回到建築物本身再做使用。​根據聯合國統計,2050 年世界總人口將會達到 98 億人,2/3 預估將居住於城市中,建築物的需求將大量增加,如何使用地球提供的有限能資源支持生活環境,將是非常重要的議題。導入循環經濟將能有效的減少建築營建業的能資源耗用,且透過循環設計保有材料在未來的再使用性,讓材料都能被循環使用。同時,循環經濟也是營建產業升級的新契機。

MORE →
Transportation

「到2030年,導入循環經濟可以讓車輛的終身碳排放量減少75%。」——世界經濟論壇

根據調查,擁有汽車的人平均只有使用 5%,而剩下 95% 的時間都是閒置著¹。汽車的停放空間佔用了人的生活空間,而花大把鈔票購買的汽車也沒有好好被運用。共享平台的興起,從使用的階段嘗試將資源的使用提升。

MORE →