Circualr Lifestyle

Housing

“Practicing circular economy is like playing mahjong. What is unuseful to one player is a treasure to another.”

More than 50% of the world’s natural resources are used in the construction industry¹. Buildings and constructions use 36% of the world's energy and are responsible for 39% of the carbon footprint². ​In Europe, the construction industry is a big consumer of energy and waste generator: consume 50% of raw materials, 50% of energy, 30% of water and generate 30% of waste, in addition to 40% carbon emission.³ Only 3-4% of construction waste is returned to the building itself for reuse. Therefore, Netherlands, France and other countries have listed the construction industry as the primary transformation industry in their national circular economy policies.

The construction and uses of buildings consume 36% of the world’s energy and contribute to nearly 40% of the global carbon footprint. (Circular living - Housing Photo 2. Photo Credit: Wix)

According to the United Nations, the world’s population will reach 9.8 billion by 2050, with ⅔ of the people living in cities. How to meet this increase in demand for construction given earth’s limited resources has become an extremely important topic. Enters circular economy - circular economy can help effectively reduce the energy consumption used during construction and ensure the reuse of construction materials through circular design. At the same time, circular economy can be a new opportunity for the construction industry to upgrade.

Photo by Benjamin Wong on Unsplash

Construction is made up of many different components, such as structure, exterior, electrical set-up, pipeline systems, even furniture or appliances. All of these parts have different life cycles, and if not planned properly, they will all have to be destroyed together, which would result in large amounts of wastes during demolition. However, if during the design phase, each level could be given the maximum amount of flexibility and was taken apart properly, then materials would no longer have to be a “depreciated” leftover, but “assets” that can be reused, which would increase its value in the future when resources become limited.

Circular buildings aim to move towards zero waste, zero emissions, and zero accidents. Consider the entire life cycle of a building or construction and plan a reversible and renewable mechanism for material, water, and energy, then it’s possible to make the best use of every resource and energy.

As the architect Ying-chao Kuo of Bio-architecture Formosana said: "Every building should be like an organism." Through the design of precast, modular and dessamble, it is possible to change components, repair, and increase components at the end of the life cycle of the building or when the building changes its function. At the same time, the value of building materials can greatly be retained and becomes the material of the next building. We can expand the levels of a building according to the different lengths of life cycle :

  • The main structure of the building: the life cycle of the main structure is 50 years, and it is not uncommon for cases of more than one hundred years. Since the buildings consume a lot of resources, the strategy for the existing buildings is to extend their lifespan. While the strategy for new buildings will be to reduce the volume in design and adopt precast and modular structures to increase the reuse rate in the future.
  • Exterior decoration system: the outer components to protect the building, such as exterior walls, doors and windows, roofs, etc., with a lifespan of about 20 to 30 years. Weather conditions such as wind, rain, and sunlight will directly affect the building through the exterior system for its weather resistance and its energy consumption after construction.
  • Electrical and pipeline systems: the electrical equipment and pipeline configuration, such as air-conditioning, electrical, water supply and drainage, their life span is about 20 to 30 years. It is a system that is relatively variable according to user needs. The exposed conduit of the pipeline is easier to repair, replace and adjust. . If the pipeline with a shorter life span is placed in the wall with a longer life span, it is not easy to repair or replace the pipeline. It will result in shortening the life of the wall due to water leakage. Since performance will change over time, if a service-oriented business model is adopted, we will always use high-quality equipment.
  • Compartment decoration system: interior walls, partitions, ceilings, floor decorations and other levels are most relevant to users. The lifespan is about ten to twenty years. It is often adjusted due to changes in user needs. Modularized Building materials increase variability and retain opportunities for reuse.
  • Furniture and equipment: movable objects such as furniture, lighting, home appliances, appliances, etc., generally have a short life span. Through the adoption of a product-service-oriented business model, high-quality equipment can be enjoyed without maintenance responsibility.
Through the design of precast, modular and dessamble, it is possible to change components, repair, and increase components at the end of the life cycle of the building or when the building changes its function. ( Resource:CTN )

Facing climate change, companies gradually view their shared responsibility for carbon reduction, and there is much room for carbon reduction in the construction industry. Taiwan’s residential and commercial sector accounts for nearly 20% of the total emissions. The high energy consumption of existing buildings makes the residential and commercial sector’s carbon emissions high, only second to the manufacturing sector. It is the department that needs to reach the largest reduction in order to reach the 2025 greenhouse gas emission reduction target. Taiwan’s construction industry has long relied on reinforced concrete (RC), which consumes more than 10 million tons of cement each year. However, the production of cement and steel are among industries with high carbon emissions. In response to future environmental trends, we should rethink the future of the entire building materials industry. In addition to the cement industry's efforts to increase the replacement rate of raw materials, Europe has also been vigorously developing technologies for recycling cement to greatly reduce the use of virgin materials. In addition, due to the development of construction technology, there are many low-carbon building materials to choose from. For example, use domestic wood from local plantations which absorb carbon dioxide during the growth and can reduce carbon emissions due to international transportation; other building materials such as bamboo and even mushrooms are developed from innovative research and development. There are many choices of green building materials, such as foamed lightweight bricks made of recycled glass, building materials made of stone sapwood. More designers and architects are required to give new life to recycled building materials from an innovative perspective.

Building Information Modeling (BIM), which has been developed by the construction industry for many years, can establish a complete material passport for a building, so that the resume and status of each building material can be clearly positioned and become a digital avatar of the building. We can treat the building as a temporary storage place for building materials. When the building has fulfilled its task, it can return the building materials or provide it for use in the next building, just like a "building materials bank."

Luxembourg-based construction company Astron worked with European banks to estimate linear and circular construction financial models. On the one hand, it is considered that the demand for parking space may change as a result of the popularization of self-driving car. On the other hand, the increasingly stringent EU carbon reduction targets and the acquisition of raw materials have become the risk of linear operation of enterprises.

Take a three-story building with 580 parking spaces as an example. In the linear mode, the wet construction method of on-site grouting is the most convenient, but after use, it can only be demolished by destructive means. The construction waste is degraded and only 8.3% of value can be recovered; while the circular building is constructed with precast modular dry construction methods. In addition to the original material cost, the cost of proper dismantling and storage after dismantling must be added. Although the cost is high, all materials are recycled and available for the next building, the value recovery is as high as 73%.

In the long run, companies can not only control assets but also obtain high return on investment. They can not only reduce the exploitation of virgin resources, risk and the consumption of raw materials and energy used in the manufacture of new building materials, can also respond to the evolution of society with higher flexibility. Circular construction is not only a "good idea, but also good business."

延伸閱讀
打造一棟循環建築的六種槓桿

營建業向來為資本、能源皆高度密集的產業,不但在歐盟地區佔了 40% 的能源使用量

循環營建—讓房子能像樂高一樣重組再造

全球有一半以上的原物料被拿來蓋成房子¹,建築物的建造與使用更消耗了全球 36%

藏在地毯裡的「循環商機」

中台灣爆發垃圾處理危機,生活中許多大型廢棄物若能妥善規劃,加以再利用,不但減少垃

荷蘭芬洛市-全球第一座「搖籃到搖籃」市政廳

位於荷蘭東南邊、有綠色港口美名的芬洛市(Venlo),在2016年打造了全球第一

飛利浦轉型「賣照明服務」,取代「賣燈泡」

買燈泡是為了「照明」,透過重新設計燈泡和商業模式,我們其實可以直接買「照明服務」

租用家電背後的「循環經濟」概念

蘋果在美國推出iPhone租賃方案「iPhone升級計畫」,租金最低每月32美元

Mobility

循環生活

「循環經濟就像打麻將,上家不要的牌,可能就是下家要的。」 —— 張榮吉,台糖土地開發處處長

全球有50%以上的天然資源皆用於建築業¹。且建築與營建使用了全球 36% 的能源並為 39% 的碳足跡負責²。​在歐洲,營建產業更是能資源耗用及廢棄物產生的大戶:50% 的原生物料、50% 能源、30% 水的耗用、產生 30% 廢棄物,並且是 40% 的碳排來源。³僅有 3-4% 的營建廢棄物回到建築物本身再做使用。因此包含荷、法等國的國家循環經濟政策都將建築業列為首要轉型產業。

建築物的建造與使用消耗了全球 36% 的能源、造成了全球近四成的碳足跡。圖片來源:Wix

根據聯合國統計,2050 年世界總人口將會達到 98 億人,2/3 預估將居住於城市中,建築物的需求將大量增加,如何使用地球提供的有限能資源支持生活環境,將是非常重要的議題。導入循環經濟將能有效的減少建築營建業的能資源耗用,且透過循環設計保有材料在未來的再使用性,讓材料都能被循環使用。同時,循環經濟也是營建產業升級的新契機。

Photo by Benjamin Wong on Unsplash

建築是許多部件的組合體,囊括了結構、外裝、機電、管線系統甚至家具家電,這些部件各自擁有不同的生命週期,若無善加規劃,到拆除階段時,各種層次的構件混合在一起,只好以破壞式拆除,形成大量營建廢棄物。若建築物能夠從設計開始,保持最大的彈性,並妥善拆除應用到下一棟建築,每一份材料便不再是需要「折舊」的耗材,而能成為公司的「資產」,尤其在資源短缺的未來,資產更有機會升值。

循環建築以邁向零廢棄、零排放、零事故為目標,考量建築或工程的全生命週期,將物質資源、水資源與能源規劃為可回復、可再生的機制,將每份資源、能源做最適宜的運用。

如九典建築師事務所的郭英釗建築師所言:「每棟建築物都應該像有機體。」透過預鑄、模組化、可拆解的設計,就能在建築物生命週期結束或用途改變時,讓建築有替換部件、維修、增加部件的空間,大幅度地保有建材的價值,成為下一棟建築的材料。我們可以將一棟建築物的層次,依不同長度的生命週期層次展開:

建築主體結構:主體結構的壽命生命週期五十年,百年以上案例並也不少見。建築物消耗大量資源,因此既有建築的結構應以延長壽命為主、而新建物則需減量設計、採用預鑄、模組化的結構以增加未來的再使用率。

  • 外裝系統:保護建築物的外層構件,外牆、門窗、屋頂等,生命週期約二十年至三十年,風吹、雨淋、日曬等氣候條件,會直接透過外裝系統影響建築物的耐候性與興建後的能源耗用。
  • 機電與管線系統:空調、電氣、給排水等機電設備與管線配置,生命週期約二十至三十年,是使用者需求較易變動的系統,將管線配置明管化有利於維修與更換調整。如將生命週期短的管線放在生命週期長的牆面裡,管線不易修繕或更換,導致漏水便會縮短牆面壽命。由於效能會隨時間改變,若採行服務化的商業模式,可保持使用高品質的設備。
  • 隔間裝修系統:內牆、隔間、天花板、地坪裝修等與使用者最相關的層次,生命週期約十年到二十年,常因使用者需求變動而調整,採用模組化的建材,增加可變動性,也保有再使用的機會。
  • 家具設備:家具、照明、家電、廚房設備等可移動的物件,一般來說,生命週期較短,可透過採用產品服務化的商業模式,享有高品質的設備且不需擔負維修責
落實建築各層次的循環策略,讓建築物像有機體般生長。圖片來源:循環台灣基金會

面對氣候變遷,企業逐漸正視減碳的共同責任,營建產業有許多減碳空間。台灣住商部門溫室氣體排放量占全體排放量近 20% ,既有建築物的高能耗使得住商部門碳排放高居不下,僅次於製造部門 ,是達到 2025 年溫室氣體減排目標,降幅需求最大的部門。台灣的營建業長期依賴鋼筋混凝土(RC),每年消耗超過一千萬噸水泥 。然而水泥及鋼鐵皆是高碳排的產業,因應未來的環境趨勢,我們應該重新思考整個建材產業的未來。除了水泥業除了正努力增加原料替代率外,像歐洲也已在大力發展回收水泥的技術,大幅減少原物料的使用。除此之外,由於營建技術的發展,已有許多低碳的建材可供選擇。例如選用來自在地人工林的國產材,木材的生長過程中吸收二氧化碳,更能減少因進口運送產生的碳排放;其他如竹材、甚至蕈類做成的建材都有許多創新的研發。再生綠建材的選擇眾多,如以回收玻璃製成的發泡輕質磚,或以石材邊材製成的建材,需要有更多設計師及建築師投入,以創新的角度賦予再生建材的新生。

營建業發展多年的建築資訊模型技術 ( Building Information Modeling,BIM) 能夠為建築物建立完整的材料護照,讓每一份建材的履歷與狀態被清楚定位,成為這棟建築物的數位分身。我們就可以將建築物視為建材暫時存放處,當建築物達成任務後,能夠把建材歸還或提供下一棟建築物使用,如同一個「建材銀行」。

盧森堡的營造公司 Astron 曾與歐洲銀行合作估算線性與循環建築財務模型。一方面考量到未來自駕車普及後,停車空間需求可能因而改變,另一方面,歐盟日益嚴格的減碳目標與原物料的取得,已成企業線性營運的風險。

以一棟三層樓、五百八十個車位的停車場為例,在線性模式中,現地灌漿的濕式工法最為方便,使用之後卻只能以破壞性拆除,將營建廢棄物降級取得八.三%的價值回收;而循環建築,用模組化預鑄的乾式工法建蓋,除原有的材料成本外,需加上妥善拆除以及拆除後的倉儲等成本,造價雖高但材料皆可再循環使用至下一棟建築,價值回收高達七三% 。

時間軸拉長來看,企業既掌握資產又取得高投資報酬,並且降低原生材料開採及風險與製造新建材的能資源耗用,以更高的彈性因應社會的進化,循環建築是個「好主意也是好生意」。

延伸閱讀
打造一棟循環建築的六種槓桿

營建業向來為資本、能源皆高度密集的產業,不但在歐盟地區佔了 40% 的能源使用量

循環營建—讓房子能像樂高一樣重組再造

全球有一半以上的原物料被拿來蓋成房子¹,建築物的建造與使用更消耗了全球 36%

藏在地毯裡的「循環商機」

中台灣爆發垃圾處理危機,生活中許多大型廢棄物若能妥善規劃,加以再利用,不但減少垃

荷蘭芬洛市-全球第一座「搖籃到搖籃」市政廳

位於荷蘭東南邊、有綠色港口美名的芬洛市(Venlo),在2016年打造了全球第一

飛利浦轉型「賣照明服務」,取代「賣燈泡」

買燈泡是為了「照明」,透過重新設計燈泡和商業模式,我們其實可以直接買「照明服務」

租用家電背後的「循環經濟」概念

蘋果在美國推出iPhone租賃方案「iPhone升級計畫」,租金最低每月32美元