Recycle to Recycle, Reuse of Discarded Clothes

With waste-reducing as the process, zero-waste as the terminal goal, and DA.AI continuously puts efforts in the solution and application of waste recycling. While producing the eco-blanket made by recycled PET bottle, DA.AI restructures the recycling chain, by using discarded textile as a raw material. Furthermore, DA.AIbreaks through the long-existing linear production mode ,extends the life cycle of material and reduces waste generation. Unlike low selling price and expensive waste disposal charges of second-hand clothes, new eco-friendly products were made to create new economic value and environmental significance.

( English provided by company. )

As an environmental public welfare enterprise, DA.AI is concerned about new garbage greneration while removing the extra edge of eco-blanket which is made by PET bottles. Besides, under the impact of fast fashion, most of discarded clothes were incinerated in Taiwan. DA.AI hopes to devote our best to the earth and seeks for the solutions for the discarded clothes.

Uniform Material Makes Recycle Much Easier

Considering the difficulty of recycling after product damage, 100% recycled polyester was targeted in the design. In order to simplify the recycling process and improve the quality of recycled products, eco-zippers and eco-buttons made of recycled polyester have been developed. There is no need to remove the accessories on the clothes, which greatly improves the recycling rate of the materials.

When the recycled polyester is re-treated into raw materials, physical process is selected to avoid the use of water resources and chemicals, and it can reduce the harm on the environment as well.

Level Determines the Usage,Nowhere to Use

Due to the heat treatment process of recycled polyester,, the recycled polyester is slightly insufficient in the performance and processing stability comparing to the original polyester. DA.AI categorizes the recycled raw materials in three grades. The highest level material is used to produce eco-friendly yarns; the second one level is used in the manufacture of eco-friendly plastic products the lowest level is modified into eco-friendly wood plastic composite (WPC) and laid on the floor.

Benefits

  • From 2016 to 2018, a total of 16 tons of discarded leftover fabric produced by eco-friendly blankets, which is made of recycled PET bottles, were used in "Recycle to Recycle" project development instead of incineration.

紡織生態工業園的永續發展模式

回收可以再回收 讓舊衣不只是舊衣

大愛感恩將「減廢」視為過程,「零廢」設為目標,持續投入於廢棄物回收再製的方法與應用。從回收寶特瓶製作環保毛毯過程中,再架構廢棄紡織品藉由回收重新做為原料的循環鏈,突破沿襲已久的線性生產模式,延續原料的使用壽命並減少垃圾產生。有別於二手舊衣的低價與龐大的廢棄物處理費,新製成的環保產品則被賦予新的經濟價值與環保意義。

大愛感恩身為環保公益企業,在寶特瓶做成環保毛毯的同時,因憂心在製作時所裁去之布邊會變成新的垃圾,同時在快時尚的衝擊下,台灣二手衣只能進入焚化爐,大愛感恩希望能為地球盡份心力,尋找焚燒以外的解決辦法。

紡織品材料單一化,回收更便利

因考量產品損壞後的回收難易度,設計時便鎖定使用100%回收聚酯,而為了簡化回收流程與改善再製品的品質,特別開發了回收聚酯做成的拉鍊與鈕扣,舊衣回收時毋須再卸除衣物上的配件,大幅提高材料的再利用率。

物理製程更環保

將回收的聚酯重新製成原料時,選用物理製程進行加工,避免水資源與化學藥劑的使用,減少對環境的傷害。

原料依照等級決定用途,不會無處可用

因回收聚酯經歷熱處理階段,相較於原生的聚酯,回收聚酯在性能與加工穩定性上稍有不足,大愛感恩將回收再製的原料分級,最高等級的原料用於生產環保紗線,其次使用在環保塑膠品製造,最低等級則透過改質做成環保塑木,鋪設於地板。

效益

  • 2016-2018年,大愛感恩因生產由寶特瓶再製的環保毛毯所產生的廢棄布邊共計16噸,皆被用於R2R專案開發,而非以焚燒處理。